Happy 2011… Wait! Where did 2010 go?!

チョウー久しぶりだな。。。
Someone needs to beat me over the head with a wet noodle…  I haven’t posted here in faaaaaar too long!  I have been sucked into the Facebook update status machine!  (Let’s face it… it is a LOT easier to just post a few sentences on FB everyday as opposed to sitting down and actually writing a full-on journal entry!… at least it is for a lazy butt like me!)

… but it has been nearly a YEAR!   (_ _|||) ガ——-ン!  もしあわけありません!(^-ェ-^).oO ( バーカ)

I am still teaching at the same two schools.  They both asked if they could request me to stay (usually we all get switched around every two to three years) … but I had to turn my boss down.

I am FINALLY returning home!

I originally came to Japan with the intention of only living here a year or two TOPS… I have now been here over FOUR years!  (0_o)  And I could keep on living here indefinitely.  My Japanese has improved vastly over the last year.  I understand a large portion of what is going on around me now, I can answer most questions in simple, and oft broken, Japanese… but I usually manage to communicate.  My younger students don’t even realize that my Japanese sucks!  One girl even asked me if I found it easier to speak Japanese or English!!!!  LOL!  “English!”  The other kids laughed and said, “Of course!  She’s from America!”  (I have always been fairly good with pronunciation… and having learned Spanish has been a great help… grammar on the other hand…. I suck at.  Abysmally! … but I am good enough to pass as a 1st or 2nd grader! LOL!)

I have gotten even more practice in my church calling.  I am now a Primary teacher.  But I have to teach the lessons in Japanese!   I guess the Bishop caught onto the fact that I understand and speak more than I have been letting on! … dangit!  Even so, my classes are a mixture of English and Japanese.  Thank goodness my student has been studying English!  Her mom actually wanted to hire me to become their English tutor as well… and if I weren’t going home in two months I would be tempted to do it… which is saying a LOT! I don’t really have enough desire for extra money to go out and spend my precious extra free time teaching… but she is one of the few people I would consider doing it for!

Alas, once I return home to the States I will no longer need my Japanese skills… so they will likely wither away…  though I plan to continue reading manga and watching dramas in Japanese.  (My favorite way to study!)  Not much call for Japanese in Montana… or anywhere else, really!

I really do look forward to returning home, though.  I miss my family!  And, I can’t believe I am actually going to say this…. but, I miss the snow!  (We shall see how long that particular sentiment lasts!)

Once I return home I will be moving in with my sister and her three little munchkins.  She lives alone with her kids…all under the age of 3.  She is also working full time!  The newest arrival came in December, just before Christmas.  It has been really tough on her.  I am going to live with them so I can take care of the kids while she works.  While I am living with them I am planning on returning to college.  So far I am considering taking some refresher courses… in multi-media technical communications. We’ll see how that goes and whether or not I want to continue down the path of getting a Masters… or if I feel like studying something completely new. (As well as something more in-demand and with better pay…)

I am excited to embark on this new adventure.
I have come to the realization that I seem to feel the need to shake things up every 4 or 5 years… something I think I inherited from my father… at least, it seems we moved houses, if not towns, every 4 to 5 years for no particular reason….  Perhaps it was in an effort not to go stale or  stagnate!  LOL!

About Mari-chan

I once lived abroad in Japan, teaching English. Now I am back in my hometown of Butte, Montana attending school as a MSTC candidate at Montana Tech where I now seem to spend all my hours! View all posts by Mari-chan

Leave a Reply

